Those Who Knew -Losing Touch Single Review

(Some context – I wrote this for my local newspaper “The Chad as my first published piece or so I thought, the Band sent off to receive a review and I was drafted to write it, I wrote it, sent it and it was “Lost” and I heard nothing about it so here is the review as I don’t think it’s fair they didn’t get any shout outs from “The Chad”)

 

After spending the last year playing pubs and clubs with cover songs, Derbyshire based band “Those Who Knew” are finally showing off their own sound with their debut single “Losing Touch”. It’s hard not to hear other bands in this song, from my very first listen I heard a touch of “Nickelback” which is something I thought I’d never have to say again. The band cites “Lower Than Atlantis” and “Paramore” as their biggest influences but I feel fans of the mid nineties alternative rock rise will be right at home here with a clear and definite sound of “Nickelback’s” “How You Remind Me” which to some might be a wonderful achievement but for others they might not want to hear something that sounds so similar.

 

For a fairly fresh faced band they have taken extreme care in honing their skills, the production value on the single is of chart quality and comes a long way from footage filmed on a phone in the back of the room, you really get to hear each individual’s talent shine throughout the track. Abandoning the genre is sometimes worthwhile doing for some Pop Punk bands when it comes to lyrics but here it feels almost forced to create a much more poppy sounding song, which confuses me as to who this is marketed towards, the lyrics are fairly straightforward and safe whilst the music is well grounded in its punk roots.    

 

It’s an incredibly promising start from the young fivesome, this track will either go down as a great start for some or a minor miss for others, but still promising none the less and with a new EP on the horizon titled “Take It!” if you’re a fan of this genre it’s worthwhile finding out when they’re playing next in and around the Derbyshire area. The new single “Losing Touch” is available to buy on Itunes and stream on Spotify.   

Bailey Armstrong

Leave a Reply

