Prime – Bye Bye Single Review

A relatively new adventure for me this week, Prime a local band who has made name for itself touting the classic rock set but I’ve had the pleasure of having an early butchers at the new single “Bye Bye”.

To me this doesn’t remind much of american pop  90’s rock but more of the Britpop era, early Britpop before Oasis hit the scene shouting obscenities and making brilliant music you had the equally brilliant calm before the storm so to speak, the early “Inspiral Carpets” tracks give me the same vibe catchy lyrics filled with a lot of great musicians and again this is what I get from “Bye Bye”. Lee Heir’s strong catchy vocals mixed with an eclectic but decent track makes this feel like a perfect way to see out March and welcome spring.

There is a slight melancholic tone to the song, for me that helps it shows off the band’s true roots and it’s background being a mix of Notts and sheffield folk, both cities having the same problem, bleakness and being altogether boring but it helps Prime for me have soul which gives the music more meaning. Sheffield has clearly had a big impact on the band you only have to look at its bigger groups to see the trend from Arctic Monkeys to Human League, the lyrics run deep, poppy and catchy but deep all the same.

For me this is how i’d like Prime to stay for the foreseeable future I liked “To Be Or Not To Be” to a certain extent, something to play in the background but for me “Bye Bye” is a stronger track, a lot stronger and Lee’s vocals excel more here than they did then.

I really enjoyed Bye Bye. Prime are a strong band with a lot of talent, but for me I will have to hear more to really pass out my judgement on them.


Bailey Armstrong

Leave a Reply

